License Plates

Screenshot 2023-06-22 at 11.50.37 AMEffective July 1, 2023

Click here for more info.

Do you want a low plate number?

Reserved plate numbers stay with the owner unless they are relinquished to someone else, or are not re-registered at the beginning of a new plate series.  If reserved plate numbers change ownership, the Treasurer's Office requires this form to be filled out before it can be registered to the new owner.

At the beginning of a new plate series (every 8 years), owners of reserved plates have the entire first year to register their low plate numbers. Any plate numbers that are not registered by the cut-off date become available to the public, and the Treasurer will decide how to disperse them. More information will become available as we get closer to the next plate series in 2025.

New Law For Military

Beginning July 1, 2018, a new law took effect regarding members of the armed forces who renew their vehicle after returning from deployment. The expiration month will now move to the month they come in to renew.

- Deployed outside U.S. for 90+ days
- Vehicle registration expired during deployment
- Renew vehicle no later than 14 days after returning to WY
- Provide proper documentation of deployment

Find more information for veterans here.

About Our Plates

Read a history of the Wyoming License plate's horse, who started appearing on license plates in the 1930's.

View images of all older plates issued by Wyoming.

wyo logo

County License Number Prefixes

Wyoming license plate numbers begin with a prefix number that designates the county in which the vehicle is registered. Below are the county designations, and the town in which each county treasurer's office is located.

Screen Shot 2022-04-06 at 11.17.41 AM